Dozer, the bulldog

Dozer, the bulldog
Dozer: Spring training is upon us!

Rockin' and rollin'

Rockin' and rollin'
The author of Mark's Work

Coleus flowers

Coleus flowers
Why I grow flowers

HappyDay Farms bees are happy bees.

HappyDay Farms bees are happy bees.
Air-borne bees

HeadSodBuster and BossLady at the coast

HeadSodBuster and BossLady at the coast
Love is the greatest power.

Beauty abounds!

Beauty abounds!
Heinz tomatoes, used for catsup

If you've seen one butterfly, you've seen 'em all, said no one ever.

If you've seen one butterfly,  you've seen 'em all, said no one ever.
Painted Lady

Fall Jewels

Fall Jewels
Praying mantis, attending services on a zinnia...

My souvenir from Reggae on the River, 2017

My souvenir from Reggae on the River, 2017
Something I have always wanted...

Mahlon Masling Blue

Mahlon Masling Blue
My friend and brother.

Mark's E-mail address

bellspringsmark@gmail.com

Thursday, April 3, 2014

These Cards Have Backs on Them


These Cards Have backs on Them

The San Francisco Giants lost a game last night by one run, a difference that was the direct result of a blown call by the home umpire. Bruce Bochy responded immediately as his pitcher, Matt Cain, sprang up from his prone position at home plate, and seriously got into the home umpire’s face.  They argued, nothing changed, and they adjourned to the dugout.  Bochy could not challenge the call because he had already used his one opportunity available during the first six innings of each game, only two batters before.

The question is, not so much whether or not replay should be implemented, but what is the best way to utilize it?  In a situation like the one described above, the decision to use the challenge on a play at first base, meant it was not available to use on a play at the plate only two batters later.  Should Bochy not have challenged the play at first, thinking a more opportune moment might come along later, just as occurred last night?

The answer is no.  After the game, Bochy responded to questions about his use of the new rule, on that play at first base involving a runner diving back to the bag.  During an interview with Chris Haft, Bochy stated that he would not have done anything differently and here’s why.

“If we think the play is wrong, we’re going to challenge it,” he said.  “Doesn’t mean it’s going to be overturned.  Sure there could be another play, but you don’t know that.  These cards have backs on them...that was a pretty big pick-off if we’d had got the call.  Would I change anything?  No.”

Haft then asked, “So when you get the play at the plate immediately afterwards, and you don’t have a challenge to use...”

Bochy didn’t let him finish the question.  “...you just hang with them...that’s what you call just hanging with them.  You can’t do anything at that point,” he finished.

He’s right, of course, and I’m glad to see our skipper has the sense to recognize it’s just baseball.  If you beat yourself up after the game for every possible thing you can find to blame yourself for, you’re not going to be in the business for very long, at least not in an enjoyable capacity.  You just can’t go through life questioning every decision.

The new rule is long overdue, but now that it’s arrived, it’s nice to see that it won’t be the source of any new drama.  The umpires are more than capable of providing that.

No comments:

Post a Comment